Skip to main content

News Release

Media Contact:
Sharon Renaud

Delta Community’s Fayetteville Branch Celebrates 10th Anniversary

Credit Union’s First Community-based Location Known for Member and Community Service

FAYETTEVILLE, GA (Feb. 4, 2016) – Delta Community Credit Union (, Georgia’s largest credit union with $4.9 billion in assets and more than 330,000 members, is celebrating the 10th anniversary of its Fayetteville branch, located in the Summit Point shopping center at 140 Highway 92 South. This week Delta Community marked the occasion with employees, Fayette County business partners and elected officials.

“This milestone is a testament to our Fayetteville team’s dedication to our members and the neighborhoods we serve,” said Delta Community CEO Hank Halter. “We celebrate the Fayetteville branch’s 10th anniversary as one of our largest and most successful locations and look forward to an exciting future of continued growth and service in and around Fayette County.”

“We are delighted to celebrate the success that Delta Community and its Fayetteville branch have enjoyed this past decade, and we wish them even greater success in the future,” said Fayetteville Mayor Edward Johnson.

Delta Community’s Fayetteville branch was its first free-standing location built after the former Delta Employees Credit Union expanded into community membership. Today, more than 19,000 people consider the Fayetteville branch their “home” bank, and nearly 30,000 Fayette County residents are members of Delta Community Credit Union.

Former Fayetteville Mayor Ken Steele, Branch Manager Melanie Myer, and Fayetteville Mayor Eddie Johnson

Pictured are former Fayetteville Mayor Ken Steele, left, and Branch Manager Melanie Myer, who helped cut the ribbon at the branch’s 2006 grand opening, and Fayetteville Mayor Eddie Johnson.

In addition to serving its members, Delta Community serves the broader Fayette County community. This year, the Credit Union will invest more than $650,000 in organizations, schools and charities that share its mission of supporting physical and financial health, including a dozen Fayette County organizations.

  • The Joseph Sam’s School and Bloom will receive more than $14,000 from the 2016 Delta Community Philanthropic Fund.
  • Partners in Education Schools such as Peachtree City, Inman and Oak Grove elementary schools will receive support for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) initiatives.
  • McIntosh and Starr’s Mill high schools will receive athletic program sponsorships
  • The Fayette County Promise Place 5K Run, Rotary Grand Prix Race Series and Camp Southern Ground are among many groups that receive financial and volunteer support from Delta Community employees.

“We’re proud of the relationships we have established in Fayette County,” said Melanie Myer, who has served as manager since the Fayetteville branch opened in 2006. “In the past decade, we have formed valued partnerships with local government, schools and business. Most of all, though, we remain passionate about giving our members, no matter where they live, trusted advice and better value on the financial services they need.”

About Delta Community Credit Union

Delta Community Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial cooperative with a mission of providing consumers better service and value on the deposit, loan, investment and insurance products they use to manage their household expenses and save for the future. Delta Community was founded in 1940 and has become Georgia’s largest credit union with $4.9 billion in assets and 26 convenient branch locations. The Credit Union now welcomes residents of 11 metro Atlanta counties and employees of more than 140 businesses, including Chick-fil-A, Delta Air Lines, RaceTrac and UPS. Visit to learn more about opening an account at Delta Community or follow the Credit Union on Facebook at and Twitter at @deltacommunity.