Skip to main content

Knowledge Base Article

Applying for the title on my car loan

Who is responsible for applying for the title on my car loan?

If you purchased your vehicle through a dealer, the dealer should apply for the title with Delta Community listed as lien holder, unless you live in a different state than where you purchased the car; then you are responsible for the title application through your local Tag Office. Be sure to list Delta Community as lien holder.

If you live in Georgia and you purchased your vehicle from an individual, you are responsible for the title application through your local Tag Office. Be sure to list Delta Community as lien holder. Effective March 1, 2013, the State of Georgia assesses a Tag Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) based on the fair market value of the vehicle you are purchasing when you file your title and apply for your tag. This will be assessed in lieu of your annual Ad Valorem fee usually paid when your tag is renewed annually. The State of Georgia requires this filing to occur within 30 days of the purchase of your vehicle. You may incur additional penalties from the State of Georgia for failure to meet this requirement. If you are refinancing from another institution or you are using your vehicle as collateral to secure a loan and you have the title, Delta Community will apply for the title on your behalf. You will need to provide to Delta Community proof of county residence if it differs from that listed on your driver's license. Proof can be in the form of a tax bill, electric bill or water bill.

If you live outside of Georgia (other than NY) and you purchased your vehicle from an individual or you are using your vehicle as collateral or refinancing from another institution, you are responsible for the title application. Take the title to your local Department of Motor Vehicles or tag office and apply for the title in your name and have Delta Community listed as lien holder. After completing this, fax a copy of your title receipt showing Delta Community as lien holder to 404-677-4809.

A list of State Lien Codes/service codes is available.

Please use the following information to have Delta Community registered as lien holder:

Delta Community Credit Union
PO Box 20541
Atlanta, GA 30320-2541

If I am purchasing vehicle from a private seller and the seller has a loan on the vehicle, but lives in a state where they have electronic titles, which documents does the credit union need?

In a state with electronic titles, the owner would go to the DMV/Tag Office and receive a print out or “gratis” listing all of the pertinent title info (owners, VIN, lien-holder, etc.) Of course the 10 day pay off letter would still be obtained from the finance company.

I am a member of Delta Community and would like to apply for a car loan and have my mother on the title with me. Is this okay?

Any family member who is eligible for membership (mother, father, etc.) can be on the title with you. The primary member is responsible for the loan; so the primary member's name must appear on the title too.